Willem visited the Kruisheren hotel in Maastricht and got a tour. He labeled it: Probably the most beautiful Dutch hotel.
The large complex of buildings served as a monastery and church for the Order of Crutched Friars since its establishment in 1438. During the French Revolution, it served as barracks and arsenal. Early last century, Victor de Stuers and the architect Cuypers took pity on the complex of buildings, which had fallen into disrepair. Following major renovations, the buildings were put into use as a National Agricultural Research Station. Late in 2000, Camille Oostwegel took the initiative to save this unique building from ruin. Large-scale renovations were set in motion and the building was transformed into a luxurious, contemporary designer hotel, retaining respect for the past and opened in fall 2005.
Here is a link to the Windows Media Player format of a video of the Kruisherenhotel